The Fifty Minute Hour

Thoughts on therapy and life

Words of love

Leave a comment


Words of love

Cwtch

The Guardian’s poem of the week is, Fruition by Rhian Edwards and it contains the following lines,

“sandwiched in sheets

and cwtched under covers”

which instantly transported me back to my childhood. Cwtch (pronounced cuutch) is a word I heard often growing up in South Wales, mainly from my Grandmother, but I have never seen it written down before. To me it is synonymous with “cwtch up” meaning come and snuggle up to me.  More than a hug or a cuddle which somehow implies a short lived act a cwtch is when you settle down right up close to that person, and stay there for as long as you want to.

www.urbandictionary.com describes a cwtch it as creating “a private safe place in a room or in two peoples hearts”, which immediately took me to Bowlby’s attachment theory and how mother provides safety and security for her child, from which they can begin to explore their wider surroundings. A place that feels like home, that we will always want to be able to return in other significant relationships. Mary Ainsworth coined the phrase Secure Base to describe this, but I think cwtch does just as well.

There is something really delightful in reclaiming a word from my childhood in this way, as well as reminding me of my roots which allowing me to stand tall now. As my Grandmother would have said, “there’s lovely”.

Author: Johanna Sartori BA MBACP Accred.

I'm just working at finding my way through life, and travelling with those on the same journey

Leave a Reply

